Truck Driving Training in Arkansas

arkansas cdlTo apply for an Arkansas CDL license you must be 18 years old, hold a valid class D license and have a clean driving record.  There is no permit required to take the CDL test in Arkansas.


Before taking the commercial driving license test its important to become familiar with the Arkansas CDL training manual.  The state police conduct all CDL license testing at any troop headquarters.  The first part of the test is a written exam, all questions are taken directly from the training manual. In order to take the written exam an applicant must bring two of the following:

  • Drivers license
  • Photo ID
  • Birth certificate
  • INS documents
  • Passport
  • Court order
  • Military ID

After completing the written exam a driving test must be taken.  The skills test may be taken any of the six Arkansas troop locations:

  • Little Rock
  • Newport
  • Russellville
  • Hope
  • Pine Bluff
  • Springdale

The CDL training manual describes what will be required in the driving skills test. Main areas of focus are pre-trip inspection, securing cargo, maneuvering, changing lanes, and obeying traffic laws.


  • Original CDL fee $42
  • CDL testing fee $50