Truck Driving Training in Kentucky

When applying for an Kentucky CDL you do not need to obtain a truck driving permit.   You will need to be familiar with the Commercial Driver License Manual of Kentucky to pass written and road tests.

You will need to be able to:

  • Prove you are 21 year old or older to drive interstate or 19 years old for in-state driving
  • Provide your Social Security number
  • Pass vision, road and written tests
  • Proof of insurance for testing vehicle (skills testing only)
  • Provide a valid Kentucky state medical card


All testing is done by the State Police.  The first stage of testing for an Kentucky CDL is written.  General concepts like driving rules, commercial vehicle laws, basic operations and safety are covered.  After the general portion of the CDL exam there may be additional tests covering specifics of the type of vehicle or endorsements the applicant is seeking.

After the written test the applicant can take the skills test, which is broken up into three parts.

  • Pre-trip Inspection – inspecting the truck for safety.
  • Basic skills – basic maneuvering and control of the vehicle.
  • Driving – traffic laws and handling specific driving situations.


  • Basic CDL – $47
  • Road test fee – $12